Board of Directors & Committees

2017 Board of Directors

  • Jay Markwalter, Augusta CVB, President
  • Rashelle Beasley, Albany CVB, Vice President
  • Brett Huske, Dalton CVB, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Jane Sowell, Milledgeville-Baldwin County CVB, Past President
  • Jerry Brown, Alpine Helen-White County CVB, At-Large
  • Marcus Margerum, Atlanta CVB, At-Large
  • Scott McQuade, Golden Isles CVB, At-Large
  • Ellen Sims, Madison CVB, At-Large
  • Cookie Smoak, Meet College Park, At-Large
  • Katie Williams, CVB of Dunwoody, At-Large
  • Ashley Woitena, Columbus CVB, At-Large 

2017 Committees 

Leadership Pillar:

  • Executive Committee
    Budgeting, bylaws, policies & procedures, and annual staff review.
  • Membership
    Welcomes new members, conducts first time attendee orientation, reviews member benefits, dues structure, and marketing efforts.

  • Nominating
    Proposes annual slate of officers and directors for approval by membership.

Education Pillar:

  • Conference Oversight Committee
    Works with GDEcD and industry representatives to manage the Governor’s Tourism Conference.
  • Content Committee
    Determines relevant content at Winter Meeting and Governor’s Tourism Conference, evaluates any other professional development opportunities. 

  • Scholarship Committee
    Plans and solicits prizes for Silent Auction, determines annual scholarships, reviews applications.

  • Benchmark of Excellence Certification Committee
    Oversees BEC program, BEC application review and GACVB Resource Library

Advocacy Pillar:

  • Public Policy Committee
    Develops the annual policy platform, participates in the annual Tourism Day at the Capitol event, evaluates legislative affairs, and works to solve specific issues for CVBs at the Capitol.